Hexagon Geospatial
MENU

GeoMedia Smart Client

GeoMedia Smart Client community discussion board is where you can create, contribute and share information and knowledge in regards to configuring as well as working with GeoMedia Smart Client. Find your answers, share your knowledge and help build a strong GeoMedia Smart Client community.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-15-2017
Accepted Solution

Controller Feature has raised an exception in Action Index.

We are seeing the error below when attempting to access features that we created for GeoMedia Smart Client.  Has anyone ever seen this error?  What does it mean and how do get around it?

 

We believe it is connection string related.   We are using the Oracle 11.2.0.3 Client / Oracle Database; GeoMedia SmartClient 2016 SP3

 


29.08.2018 15:36:47 ERROR - Controller Feature has raised an exception in Action Index.
Intergraph.Emea.Workflows.ResolveModelException: Could not resolve property 'DefaultValue'.
[Data]
DefaultValue: Index was outside the bounds of the array.
at Intergraph.Emea.Workflows.ModelHelper.ResolveProperty[TSource](PropertyInfo propertyInfo, PropertyDescriptionAttribute propertyDescription, TSource description, IWorkflowControllerContext workflowControllerContext, WorkflowData workflowData, ModelScopes modelScope, PropertyTypes& propertyType)
at Intergraph.Emea.Workflows.ModelHelper.ResolveProperty[TSource](String propertyName, TSource description, IWorkflowControllerContext workflowControllerContext, WorkflowData workflowData, ModelScopes modelScope, PropertyTypes& propertyType)
at Intergraph.Emea.Workflows.FormField._CreateFormField(FormFieldDescription formFieldDescription, IWorkflowControllerContext workflowControllerContext, WorkflowData workflowData, DomainObject domainObject, ModelScopes modelScope, Boolean includeActions)
at Intergraph.Emea.Workflows.Form.CreateForm(FormDescription formDescription, IWorkflowControllerContext workflowControllerContext, WorkflowData workflowData, DomainObject domainObject, ModelScopes modelScope)
at Intergraph.Emea.Workflows.FormController.Index()
at lambda_method(Closure , ControllerBase , Object[] )
at System.Web.Mvc.ReflectedActionDescriptor.Execute(ControllerContext controllerContext, IDictionary`2 parameters)
at System.Web.Mvc.ControllerActionInvoker.InvokeActionMethod(ControllerContext controllerContext, ActionDescriptor actionDescriptor, IDictionary`2 parameters)
at System.Web.Mvc.Async.AsyncControllerActionInvoker.<BeginInvokeSynchronousActionMethod>b__39(IAsyncResult asyncResult, ActionInvocation innerInvokeState)
at System.Web.Mvc.Async.AsyncResultWrapper.WrappedAsyncResult`2.CallEndDelegate(IAsyncResult asyncResult)
at System.Web.Mvc.Async.AsyncControllerActionInvoker.EndInvokeActionMethod(IAsyncResult asyncResult)
at System.Web.Mvc.Async.AsyncControllerActionInvoker.AsyncInvocationWithFilters.<InvokeActionMethodFilterAsynchronouslyRecursive>b__3d()
at System.Web.Mvc.Async.AsyncControllerActionInvoker.AsyncInvocationWithFilters.<>c__DisplayClass46.<InvokeActionMethodFilterAsynchronouslyRecursive>b__3f()
at System.Web.Mvc.Async.AsyncControllerActionInvoker.AsyncInvocationWithFilters.<>c__DisplayClass46.<InvokeActionMethodFilterAsynchronouslyRecursive>b__3f()
at System.Web.Mvc.Async.AsyncControllerActionInvoker.AsyncInvocationWithFilters.<>c__DisplayClass46.<InvokeActionMethodFilterAsynchronouslyRecursive>b__3f()
at System.Web.Mvc.Async.AsyncControllerActionInvoker.EndInvokeActionMethodWithFilters(IAsyncResult asyncResult)
at System.Web.Mvc.Async.AsyncControllerActionInvoker.<>c__DisplayClass21.<>c__DisplayClass2b.<BeginInvokeAction>b__1c()
at System.Web.Mvc.Async.AsyncControllerActionInvoker.<>c__DisplayClass21.<BeginInvokeAction>b__1e(IAsyncResult asyncResult)
at System.Web.Mvc.Async.AsyncControllerActionInvoker.EndInvokeAction(IAsyncResult asyncResult)
at System.Web.Mvc.Controller.<BeginExecuteCore>b__1d(IAsyncResult asyncResult, ExecuteCoreState innerState)
at System.Web.Mvc.Async.AsyncResultWrapper.WrappedAsyncVoid`1.CallEndDelegate(IAsyncResult asyncResult)
at System.Web.Mvc.Controller.EndExecuteCore(IAsyncResult asyncResult)
at System.Web.Mvc.Async.AsyncResultWrapper.WrappedAsyncVoid`1.CallEndDelegate(IAsyncResult asyncResult)
at System.Web.Mvc.Controller.EndExecute(IAsyncResult asyncResult)
at System.Web.Mvc.MvcHandler.<BeginProcessRequest>b__5(IAsyncResult asyncResult, ProcessRequestState innerState)
at System.Web.Mvc.Async.AsyncResultWrapper.WrappedAsyncVoid`1.CallEndDelegate(IAsyncResult asyncResult)
at System.Web.Mvc.MvcHandler.EndProcessRequest(IAsyncResult asyncResult)
at System.Web.HttpApplication.CallHandlerExecutionStep.System.Web.HttpApplication.IExecutionStep.Execute()
at System.Web.HttpApplication.ExecuteStepImpl(IExecutionStep step)
at System.Web.HttpApplication.ExecuteStep(IExecutionStep step, Boolean& completedSynchronously)
--- Inner exception ---
System.IndexOutOfRangeException: Index was outside the bounds of the array.
at Intergraph.Emea.SmartClient.Administrator.NoPasswordConnectionStringProvider.GetValue(IWorkflowControllerContext workflowControllerContext, WorkflowData workflowData, Object[] args)
at Intergraph.Emea.Workflows.ModelHelper.ResolveProperty[TSource](PropertyInfo propertyInfo, PropertyDescriptionAttribute propertyDescription, TSource description, IWorkflowControllerContext workflowControllerContext, WorkflowData workflowData, ModelScopes modelScope, PropertyTypes& propertyType)

 

Staff
Posts: 253
Registered: ‎02-04-2016

Re: Controller Feature has raised an exception in Action Index.

Hi Thomas,

 

The error "Index was outside the bounds of the array." may indicate data issue relating to the particular feature.

 

Does it happen on certain feature(s) only ?

 

Are you able to display the feature within GeoMedia Desktop, and if so, can you perform (a) Analyze Geometry and (b) spatial filter on the feature ?

 

Thanks

 

Frank

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-15-2017

Re: Controller Feature has raised an exception in Action Index.

We created several features and it happens with each one of the features.  However, there is no geometry in any of these features yet, they have just simply been created.

 

In the RPI_FEATURE table, we modified the DATACONNECT and MAPCONNECT for the features to use:

 

USERNAME/PASSWORD@HOSTNAME/SERVICENAME

 

and the features are now able to be accessed in GeoMedia SmartClient

 

We were previously using: Data Source=HOSTNAME/SERVICENAME;User ID=USERID; Password=PASSWORD; (which has worked in the past)

 

Since there is currently no geometry, then running these checks would not return any results.

Staff
Posts: 253
Registered: ‎02-04-2016

Re: Controller Feature has raised an exception in Action Index.

Hi Thomas,

 

How did you create the features within the GMSC metadata ?  Through the GMSC Administrator's "New Feature > Database" interface ?

 

Regards,

 

Frank

Staff
Posts: 376
Registered: ‎11-12-2015

Re: Controller Feature has raised an exception in Action Index.

Hi ThomasR,

 

It looks as though you trying to access this feature class via a Workflow, is that correct?

 

If that is true then the error you receive:

29.08.2018 15:36:47 ERROR - Controller Feature has raised an exception in Action Index.
Intergraph.Emea.Workflows.ResolveModelException: Could not resolve property 'DefaultValue'.
[Data]
DefaultValue: Index was outside the bounds of the array.

 

Is complaining about the Default Value that is set being invalid for the array. In that case you should review what is set for Default Value property in this case and compare it against acceptable values. Without seeing your workflow/form settings it is tough to identify the point of failure.

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-15-2017

Re: Controller Feature has raised an exception in Action Index.

No, we did not use the New Feature > Database interface. We are working with Intergraph Planning and Response, which provides Layer.SDF that is imported directly into the GeoMedia SmartClient database. The SDF contains 12 layers that require the user to update the MAPCONNECT and DATACONNECT with the appropriate connection string information.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-15-2017

Re: Controller Feature has raised an exception in Action Index.

Staff
Posts: 807
Registered: ‎10-18-2015

Re: Controller Feature has raised an exception in Action Index.

Hi,

 

please check the primary key type in the database and in case limit it to number(19,0) or something like that.

 

Stefano

Stefano Turcato
Presale Engineer
Hexagon Geospatial
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-15-2017

Re: Controller Feature has raised an exception in Action Index.

The primary key on the RPI_FEATURE table is ID, which is already VARCHAR2 (36 CHAR).  Are you suggesting limiting the ID column to NUMBER (19, 0) on the RPI_FEATURE table or the primary key on a different table? 

 

When we change the connection string in the MAPCONNECT column in the RPI_FEATURE table, we do not encounter the error.  It appears to be the MAPCONNECT column at fault, not the primary key.  It seems odd that the primary key would keep this from working (ID column for RPI_FEATURE table). 

Staff
Posts: 253
Registered: ‎02-04-2016

Re: Controller Feature has raised an exception in Action Index.

Hi Thomas,

 

I guess the bottom line is current version of GMSC uses a different format for DATACONNECT and MAPCONNECT columns for Oracle features, causing the IPR import tool to fail.  Once the format is correct in the layer.SDF then the IPR import tool can successfully import Oracle features directly into GMSC metadatabase.

 

New format --> USERNAME/PASSWORD@HOSTNAME/SERVICENAME

 

Old format --> Data Source=HOSTNAME/SERVICENAME;User ID=USERID; Password=PASSWORD; 

 

+++

 

The error message "exception in Action Index" could be triggered by a null/failed connection...

 

I checked my GMSC metadata and all my Oracle features are using the format USERNAME/PASSWORD@HOSTNAME/SERVICENAME, therefore initially I thought an older GMSC Admin > "New Feature > Database" interface were used to insert/import the Oracle features, turned out it was an older IPR import tool.

 

Regards,

 

Frank

 

Do you need immediate support?
If you encounter a critical issue and need immediate assistance please submit a Service Request through our Support Portal.