Hexagon Geospatial
MENU

Support GeoMedia Smart Client

GeoMedia Smart Client community discussion board is where you can create, contribute and share information and knowledge in regards to configuring as well as working with GeoMedia Smart Client. Find your answers, share your knowledge and help build a strong GeoMedia Smart Client community.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎07-07-2016
Accepted Solution

GMSC doesn't refresh feature geometry

Hi,

 

I've created a FeatureClass 'wspolne.lokalizacja' in GeoMedia2016. It contains 'geometry' and 'geometry_spa' fields. Then In GMSC2016 with postgreSql10 I've configured a feature (as geometry field I've set 'geometry_spa'). In GMSC I can draw feature and change it's geometry.

But there's a problem after changing geometry by sql query.

i.e.

update wspolne.lokalizacja set geometry_spa=ST_GeomFromText('LINESTRING Z(638320.400137579 676458.512936817 0, 638282.59 686455.67 0)', 2180) where id=43

 

The problem is, that GMSC shows old version of the geometry. Reloading of the feature or even restarting GMSC java applet doesn't help.

I've checked how geometry looks in QGIS and it's correct there. I've also checked it in GeoMedia - it shows the same as GMSC. 

What can be the reason?zizu52.png

 

 

Staff
Posts: 764
Registered: ‎10-18-2015

Re: GMSC doesn't refresh feature geometry

there should not be reasons for showing the "old" version unless the feature is not live (featureloader). Please check Maps.log to understand what is going on (you can set it to debug mode and check the sql query issued to database).

Within GeoMedia you have to close and reopen the connection.

 

Stefano

Stefano Turcato
Presale Engineer
Hexagon Geospatial
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎07-07-2016

Re: GMSC doesn't refresh feature geometry

[ Edited ]

Feature featureloader is set to 'live'.

GeoMedia shows still the same even after restarting GeoMedia.exe.

Maps.log - I would like to check it, but I cannot find in documentation how to switch logging on.

 

I've also checked sql issued to database and look as follows:

 

Select id, geometry_spa, geometry From (select * from wspolne.lokalizacja where zi_id is not null) SC_ENTITYSQL Where st_intersects(geometry_spa, (('\x0103000020840800000100000005000000003C3BBAC4C07EC0049A083B01BDFF4068479718B8722F41049A083B01BDFF4068479718B8722F41C0EC9ED8BFCD2741003C3BBAC4C07EC0C0EC9ED8BFCD2741003C3BBAC4C07EC0049A083B01BDFF40')::bytea)) = true

 

 

 

Staff
Posts: 764
Registered: ‎10-18-2015

Re: GMSC doesn't refresh feature geometry

and is the result what you expect? 

logging is already enabled, but by default only errors are written, you just have to change the log level in the web.config file of MapService.

 

 

Stefano Turcato
Presale Engineer
Hexagon Geospatial
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎07-07-2016

Re: GMSC doesn't refresh feature geometry

Stefano,

 

MapServce log looks as follows. The sql query seems to be the same, as in postreSql log. Notice, that the sql query gets not only geometry_spa column but also geometry column. If GMSC doesn't use geometry column, why does it get it in sql query then?

 

 

18.06.2018 10:26:11 DEBUG - Query for DisplayRule: Select id, geometry_spa, geometry From (select * from wspolne.lokalizacja where zi_id is not null) SC_ENTITYSQL Where st_intersects(geometry_spa, @RANGE) = true
18.06.2018 10:26:11 DEBUG - Range for DisplayRule Query: POLYGON ((620516.42203125032 669145.00578541716, 652733.80743125034 669145.00578541716, 652733.80743125034 689456.95398541715, 620516.42203125032 689456.95398541715, 620516.42203125032 669145.00578541716))
18.06.2018 10:26:11 DEBUG - Query (Layer 18) finished in: 00:00:00.005
18.06.2018 10:26:11 DEBUG - Map (Layer 18) finished in: 00:00:00.008

 

I've made dump of this table in SQL format. Can you check it? database dump

Staff
Posts: 764
Registered: ‎10-18-2015

Re: GMSC doesn't refresh feature geometry

it appears that both GeoMedia and GMSC are still reading the geometry blob field. Please set the content of that field to NULL to have GMSC reading the native geometry.

 

HTH,

Stefano

Stefano Turcato
Presale Engineer
Hexagon Geospatial
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎07-07-2016

Re: GMSC doesn't refresh feature geometry

It looks like, when geometry field is null then GMSC displays geometry from geometry_spa.

So the problem is, that geometry and geometry_spa fileds are not synchronized.

How can I synchronize geometry field according to geometry_spa field content? Is there any GMSC API function for this, or any way to do it using sql query?

Staff
Posts: 764
Registered: ‎10-18-2015

Re: GMSC doesn't refresh feature geometry

why do you need them synchronized? the geometry blob is a GeoMedia internal way of representing the geometry, you cannot this by sql. You may ask GeoMedia's team how to do it using GM's API.

Stefano Turcato
Presale Engineer
Hexagon Geospatial
Highlighted
Regular Contributor
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎10-12-2015

Re: GMSC doesn't refresh feature geometry

 

My 2 cents worth - If you are editing outside both the GeoMedia / GMSC environment that implies you no longer want the original GDO blob field.

Given both GeoMedia and GMSC will both happily read the SPA field, when you modify the geometry_spa outside of GeoMedia / GMSC, simply set the Geometry (GDO Blob) field to null.

 

Note: the Geometry (GDO Blob) field is only populated by GeoMedia or GMSC if the geometry cannot be 100% represented in that native geometry_spa field. Refer the GeoMedia online help guide for details of when the GDO field is populated. (rules apply to both GeoMedia and GMSC) 

GeoMedia Help > Overview of GeoMedia > Using PostGIS Connections > Delivery and Connection > PostGIS Warehouse Requirements, in particular 'Geometry Storage' and 'GeoMedia's Binary Geometry to Native Geometry Type Matching'. When you edit outside of GeoMedia / GMSC then you are accepting the representation of the 3rd party editor using the lowest common denominator of the native geometry_spa field representation.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎07-07-2016

Re: GMSC doesn't refresh feature geometry

Thanks for help.

Do you need immediate support?
If you encounter a critical issue and need immediate assistance please submit a Service Request through our Support Portal.