Hexagon Geospatial
MENU

Support WebGIS

Need a push in the right direction when configuring WebMap, Portal or SDI services? Looking for hints and tips, or just looking for Ideas and information? The WebGIS discussion board is where you start those discussions, connect and share information.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Technical Evangelist
Posts: 859
Registered: ‎09-11-2015

Re: Admin Console - cannot access to a specific istance

Correct. Step by step :-)

Jan Neumann
Post Sales Engineer Web Applications
Hexagon Geospatial

Super Contributor
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎10-27-2015

Re: Admin Console - cannot access to a specific istance

Hello Jan,

I just did the test you suggested. After each steps (1, 2, 3) I could configure the istance in the Admin Console.

 

  1. Back up the instance files, delete it and create a new one with the same name.
    (try to configure in AdminConsole) 
  2. Replace the new web.config with the one from backup
    (try to configure in AdminConsole)
  3. Copy App_Data\Maps files, to preserve old stored maps and registered users, if any.
    (try to configure in AdminConsole)

After the step 3 the portal is not configured (layers, etc) as the old one. Is there a way to not lose the portal? I have the backup of the old ADR portal.
Thank you very much
regards

Super Contributor
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎10-27-2015

Re: Admin Console - cannot access to a specific istance

 I stopped IIS,  and put the original ADR folder in 

 

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Hexagon\Services\Instances\

 

then I restarted IIS. Now the old portal is OK, but if I try to configure it I cannot.
Thank you very much

Regards

Highlighted
Technical Evangelist
Posts: 859
Registered: ‎09-11-2015

Re: Admin Console - cannot access to a specific istance

Hi Giuseppe,

 

Depending on how did you prepare the layers they can be in two locations:

  1. AdminPortal saved maps - C:/Program Files/Common Files/Hexagon/Services/AdminInstances/AdminPortal/App_Data/Maps#<guid>
  2. App_Data\Maps of the actual instance

You must therefore assign proper starting workspace to the Portal:

  1. You can try to copy the old Portal's configuration file: C:\Program Files\Common Files\Hexagon\Services\Instances\ADR\App_Data\Configuration to the new Portal instance folder.
    Then make sure that you can still configure it in the AdminConsole, and check the Starting Configuration tab if the Starting Workspace value is set.
  2. If the workspaces were set to Public, then you should see them in the Starting Configuration too.
Jan Neumann
Post Sales Engineer Web Applications
Hexagon Geospatial

Technical Evangelist
Posts: 859
Registered: ‎09-11-2015

Re: Admin Console - cannot access to a specific istance

OK, but by that step, you just went back to the original situation :-)

Jan Neumann
Post Sales Engineer Web Applications
Hexagon Geospatial

Super Contributor
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎10-27-2015

Re: Admin Console - cannot access to a specific istance

[ Edited ]

Yes, I wanted to test the way to went back., and it works :-)

I will try the other test that you have suggested

thank you very much

Regards

Super Contributor
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎10-27-2015

Re: Admin Console - cannot access to a specific istance

I copied also the old Portal's configuration file and now it seems to me that everything is fine!

I will do other tests (loading new data)

I am attaching the new log

Thank you very much!!!!

Regards

Super Contributor
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎10-27-2015

Re: Admin Console - cannot access to a specific istance

Thank you very much Jan!

The problem is solved!

Regards

Giuseppe Maldera

Do you need immediate support?
If you encounter a critical issue and need immediate assistance please submit a Service Request through our Support Portal.