Hexagon Geospatial
MENU

Developer Discussions

Discuss topics with other Hexagon Geospatial Power Portfolio developers and experts to get the most out of our products.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Highlighted
Technical Evangelist
Technical Evangelist
Posts: 323
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Command Wizard refresh for GeoMedia Desktop 16.6

The command wizard has fallen out of step with other GeoMedia developments.  For our next major release (target 01-Oct-2019) we plan to refresh it.  The intent is to integrate properly with Visual Studio 2017 and later; eliminate reference to outdated constructs such as user commands, toolbar buttons, and application names; produce both WinForms and WPF-ready commands; introduce and use some improved helper API for modal and modeless commands; and make a variety of modest usability improvements.

 

Beyond the items mentioned here, do you have other specific things you'd like to see for the command wizard?  I'd like to make sure we're not missing anything fundamental that may be straightforward for us to accommodate.  Note:  If your request is sizable, or if the case for its value is not self-evident without the feedback of others, I'll ask you to post your wishes to the Ideation board.  You are of course welcome to do that anyway!  - Hal

Staff
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎02-10-2017

Re: Command Wizard refresh for GeoMedia Desktop 16.6

Hi Hal.

 

Would it be possible to extent this command wizard to also include the ability to create new ribbon bars?

That way we could create the commands and afterward it could be created a new ribbon to accomodate those new commands.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎11-10-2015

Re: Command Wizard refresh for GeoMedia Desktop 16.6

Hi Hal,

 

Same request, if the wizard can include a complete Add-On model, it will be fine

 

Regards,

Benoît

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎11-10-2015

Re: Command Wizard refresh for GeoMedia Desktop 16.6

Hal,

 

I have 2 other suggestions :

  • Add in the Wizard result a RegisterCommand.bat file to facilitate the deployment on the final machines (this .bat file must register the dll and call the InstallAppCommand instruction)
  • Integrate in the Wizard the possibility to create StartupCommands and not only ApplicationCommands

 

Regards,

Benoît

Technical Evangelist
Technical Evangelist
Posts: 323
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Command Wizard refresh for GeoMedia Desktop 16.6

Gentlemen, these are very interesting thoughts but our view is that they go beyond the scope of a wizard that generates command code.  What you are proposing sounds like an additional "add-on wizard" (or some such) that would run outside the Visual Studio environment most likely  It would allow definition of ribbon bars, assocation of commands to ribbons, and more.  If you think this idea worth pursuing, please file an entry on the Ideation board and let's see how interested others might be.  - Hal

Staff
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎02-10-2017

Re: Command Wizard refresh for GeoMedia Desktop 16.6

Do you need immediate support?
Please submit a Ticket through our
Development Ticket Portal.