Hexagon Geospatial
MENU

ERDAS APOLLO & ECW/JP2

Wondering how others have configured their ERDAS APOLLO server or what data they are crawling? The ERDAS APOLLO Discussion board is a place to find information, share ideas and more. Join the community, connect, contribute and share.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎09-20-2017

ERDAS APOLLO - CRAWLING TIFF

Hello everyone. I can't crawl TIFF images in ERDAS APOLLO Data Manager. But I can crawl IMG and ECW images. I can't find any solution how to do this. Does anyone know how to do it? Thank you very much. 

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎11-16-2015

Re: ERDAS APOLLO - CRAWLING TIFF

Hi Julie,

 

You can check the Tomcat-server.log and see if anything particular is happening. Maybe APOLLO cannot find the coordinate system of the images.

 

Florent

Staff
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎05-31-2016

Re: ERDAS APOLLO - CRAWLING TIFF

If it is a coordinate system Issue you can sometimes work around the problem if you know the correct SRS.

It can sometimes help to set the "default SRS" for the aggregate before crawling.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-07-2016

Re: ERDAS APOLLO - CRAWLING TIFF

Hello Julie,

 

are you able to see the TIFF image in the Add Resource menu of the ERDAS APOLLO Data Manager? If you can't see your file you have to modify your decoder.yaml file in the ERDAS APOLLO configuration directory config\erdas-apollo\providers\coverage. Please take a look at the template of the tif configuration (starting in line 37 in the default decoder.yaml file). The template is configured with a regular expression. Per default you are only allowed to crawl TIFF images with the ending .tif or .tiff in lower case. Please change the line from

  template: .*\.tif[f]?

to

  template: .*\.[Tt][Ii][Ff][Ff]?

There have to be two spaces at the beginning of the line. With this modification you can crawl TIFF images with the ending .tif or .tiff case insensitiv.

 

Regards

Markus

Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎09-20-2017

Re: ERDAS APOLLO - CRAWLING TIFF

Hello Moveresc,

 

We already modified the decoder.yaml file. TIFF images are now visible in the Add Resource menu but still cannot be crawled in the Data Manager. Do you have an idea what the problem is? Thank you very much.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-07-2016

Re: ERDAS APOLLO - CRAWLING TIFF

Hello Julie,

 

ERDAS APOLLO is using different decoder classes to read TIFF files.

Are you able to open your TIFF image in ERDAS Imagine? Does the crawl job in the jobs menu contains some information about invalid geometric information in your TIFF image?

We had some TIFF images that could not be read with the default image decoder, so we changed the order of the handlerClassNames in the decoder.yaml to the following

  - com.ionicsoft.gdal.coverage.GDALCoverageDecoder

  - com.lggi.esp.coverage.decoder.raster.gio.GIORasterDecoderProxy
  - com.ionicsoft.raster.codec.GeotiffFileImage

With the GDAL decoder as the first decoder we were able to solve our image crawl problem.

 

Regards

Markus

Do you need immediate support?
If you encounter a critical issue and need immediate assistance please submit a Service Request through our Support Portal.