Hexagon Geospatial
MENU

ERDAS APOLLO & ECW/JP2

Wondering how others have configured their ERDAS APOLLO server or what data they are crawling? The ERDAS APOLLO Discussion board is a place to find information, share ideas and more. Join the community, connect, contribute and share.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎05-13-2016
Accepted Solution

Register Database with Apollo Essentials

Hi --

 

For various maintenance reasons, I reloaded Apollo from scratch.  Installation works fine, configuration works fine -- except for the last step, where I get the message that I can't register the database with Apollo Essentials (but I can do it manually from the Essentials Console).  However, when I open the console, I can't figure out how to register the database.  I'm using a PostgreSQL database located on the D: drive.

 

Thanks for your help.

Contributor
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎11-02-2015

Re: Register Database with Apollo Essentials

Hi,

 

APOLLO Advantage stores its information in the defined APOLLO-Database (which is Postgres in your case). If you have seleceted the legcy option during the 2016 installation WMS will be provided by APOLLO Adv. If not WMS as well as WMTS or ECWP will be provided by APOLLO Essentials. In order to get this two systems working a sync between the Catalog-DB of APOLLO Advantage and the content-DB of APOLLO Essentials is used.

 

Try to setup the sync process as described here: http://community.hexagongeospatial.com/t5/ERDAS-APOLLO-Q-A/Recreate-APOLLO-Catalog-Service-in-APOLLO...

 

If you do get the error “No main manifest attribute, in IWSUpdateUtil.jar" when starting the IWSUpdateUtil.jar you need to use an older version e.g. coming with APOLLO 2015.  If you do not have access to an older version let me know. I should be able to provide you a download link.

 

You should also try to find out the reason why the sync fails. One possible issue could be a non-working local name resolution. Is the hostname used during setup resolved correctly on your local server? E.G if you have entered host.domain.com you should be able to ping host.domain.com in a DOS window.

 

Good luck

Fritz

Geography is what geographers do...
Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎05-13-2016

Re: Register Database with Apollo Essentials

Hi --

 

Sorry for delaying in replying, but I've been grading final exam papers.  I tried to connect the database to Apollo using your instructions, and I was able to add APOLLO-Catalog to the Essentials console.  But when I went to Data Manager and tried to do anything, I was able to log into the catalog, but after about 5 seconds was dumped off with an error message suggesting that either the server or the network connection was unavailable.

 

As mentioned earlier, I was able to get things running before, using only an http:// connection.  I wanted to add an https:// connection when I cleaned things up (by rebuilding the server from scratch).  I wonder if the problem is that it's trying to connect to both port 80 and port 443.  Unfortunately, I can't remember how I configured port https://, the user interface for Windows Server 2012 R2 is far from intuitive, and the documentation is terrible.  Might this be the problem?  In looking at the log, I see references to port 443, but the Data Manager reports a certificate problem with that.  It lets me log into port 80, but then dumps me off.  At this point, I'd really like to remove the https:// connection, but I don't know how (altermatively, figure out the certificate problem for it).

 

Thanks for your help.

Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎11-02-2015

Re: Register Database with Apollo Essentials

Hi pc44062,

 

my experience is that using https out of the box could break APOLLO. This strongly depends on the type of certificate you are using. If you are using a self-singed certificate all java-based application will not be able to “talk” to your APOLLO since the communication it is based on an unsecure connection. You should find errors like “javax.net.ssl.SSLHandshakeException: sun.security.validator.ValidatorException”. or "sun.security.provider.certpath.SunCertPathBuilderException: unable to find valid certification path to requested target". Even the APOLLO Datamanager as well as the tool to sync Essentials with Advantage will not be able to connect to your APOLLO.

 

This normally would not happen if you are using a certificate from a known trust-center.

The reason: the java-VM (JRE) has stored most of the root CA of the well know trust centers in its keystore.

 

There are two ways of solving your issue:

 

  1. reconfigure the APOLLO server (run the configwizard that can be found in the APOLLO-Install-DIR/configwizard) to use http and not https.
  2. Or add your (self-singed or let’s-encrypt) cert to the keystore of all java-VMs that will be used to connect to APOLLO. The first one is C:\Program Files\Hexagon\ERDAS APOLLO\tools\jdk64\ (APOLLO TomCat) and the second one is :\Program Files (x86)\Hexagon\ERDAS APOLLO Data Manager\jre7 (APOLLO Datamanager). An instruction how to do this can be found here: https://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/security/toolsign/rstep2.html

In order to this follow this guide ensure that you have created a SSL-cert including your trusted CA. Here you find some additional hints: https://www.howtogeek.com/107415/it-how-to-create-a-self-signed-security-ssl-certificate-and-deploy-...

Perhaps it would make more sense to setup your https of your IIS using a cert coming from letsencrypt. A good how-to can be found here: https://weblog.west-wind.com/posts/2016/feb/22/using-lets-encrypt-with-iis-on-windows

 

 

Cheers

Fritz

 

Geography is what geographers do...
Do you need immediate support?
If you encounter a critical issue and need immediate assistance please submit a Service Request through our Support Portal.