Hexagon Geospatial
MENU

ERDAS IMAGINE

Discuss and share topics of interest using ERDAS IMAGINE the world’s leading geospatial data authoring system.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-19-2016

Basic Layer Stack Question

Hi there,

When I add an image to scene list and go to download the data, there is only one TIFF image (as opposed to the usual number of 8) Could anyone identify why this is. I am using the MSS 4-5 Dataset.

Staff
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎07-04-2016

Re: Basic Layer Stack Question

[ Edited ]

Dear colinwalsh911,

 

Could you please clarify:

Is it Erdas IMAGINE related question? If yes, so what tool are you using?

Or is this question related to downloading the dataset from some website? If yes, so from what and what product are you downloading?

 

Kind Regards,

Marina Vardovska

 

Post-Sales Engineer Remote Sensing

Hexagon Geospatial Division

Kind Regards,
Marina Vardovska
Hexagon Geospatial Support
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎03-13-2016

Re: Basic Layer Stack Question

hallo everyone,

 

Mine is about how to unstack or (decouple bands  ) from composite images.

 

This is an ERDAS IMAGINE related question

 

I am working with Landsat 7ETM  with slc-off gaps.

 

I loked up Landsat sciencne webpage and followed the instructions given by them to prepare all Landsat 7 scenes for scientific analaysis

 ( see link:  https://landsat.usgs.gov/gap-filling-landsat-7-slc-single-scenes-using-erdas-imagine-TM)

The first stage requires that a layer stacking is carried out on desired bands before de-striping can be done.  This  I have carefully carried out.  But while layer -stacking , I left all the data extensions in .tiff forms

 

The second and final stage that can help deliver the data in a form useable for scientific analysis requires that each band from an SLC-off affected landsat data be selected individually to run a model using simialr band number from a pre-2003 SLC-on landsat image.

(see link:  https://landsat.usgs.gov/filling-gaps-use-scientific-analysis)

 

I am a bit confused here. how can I get individual bands from the gap-filled landsat images taht i have already cleaned up for comparing with similar bands in the SLC-on scene that i will be using as a reference scene to run teh model?

 

This is why i aksed for a clue on how to unpack or unstack composite bands.

 

Thank you very much

 

i am wondering

 

Any clue?

 

Thank you

Staff
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎07-04-2016

Re: Basic Layer Stack Question

Dear kansy,

 

I've created a model for you which will do the job. Open the model attached in Spatial Model Editor (simply drag&drop model to the opened 2D View). Click Run from the Spatial Modeler tab.

 

Within this model, you will need to specify only the Raster input filename. 

 

2017-08-07 10_23_59-Untitled_1 - ERDAS IMAGINE 2016.png

 

As a result, each band in a separate file will appear in the same directory as your raster input. A Number in the end, which is added to the original filename pointing to the band number.

 

2017-08-07 10_25_32-test.png

 

Kind Regards,
Marina Vardovska
Hexagon Geospatial Support
Contributor
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎03-13-2016

Re: Basic Layer Stack Question

Dear Ms Mvardovs,

 

Excellent

 

many thanks for your quick response. I am so pleased that you are able to offer this remote assistance . I greatly appreciate it because as a non-expert , I find some of these applucations a bit complicated and need guidiance. I will get going and feed you back with progress.

 

Please hang in there!!!!!

 

With warm regards

 

Emana

Contributor
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎03-13-2016

Re: Basic Layer Stack Question

Dear

 

I didnt quite seem to get the procedure.

 

i have tried a couple of options to move the spatial model to the 2d view.

 

First i click the attached model to your message and it opened up as a normal zipped file.  Then i halted there

 

Second I went straight to the tool box and clicked on the spatial editor

 

I dont quite understand how to get teh model unto teh 2D view

 

here are pictorial representations   (attached ) of what i have done

Staff
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎07-04-2016

Re: Basic Layer Stack Question

Dear Emana,

 

The model is located in a ZIP archive. Model itself has a .gmdx extension. You should drag&drop unstack.gmdx file to the 2D View, but not from archive. Model should be extracted firstly.

 

The second option how you can open the model is following:

  1. Right click in the Spatial Model Editor window
  2. Click Open.
  3. Navigate to the folder where model is located. 
  4. Select unstack.gmdx. Click OK.

 

2017-08-07 14_13_11-Untitled_1 - ERDAS IMAGINE 2016.png

 

Kind Regards,
Marina Vardovska
Hexagon Geospatial Support
Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎06-01-2016

Re: Basic Layer Stack Question

HI Kansy, 

 

To use spatial models you need to drag and drop the .gmdx file into the spatial model editor (from an unzipped folder). Or once the spatial modeler view is open (and active) you can then use the open icon in the quick access toolbar (very top left).

Contributor
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎03-13-2016

Re: Basic Layer Stack Question

Dear All,

 

Attached are screen shots of what i have done

 

  1. I tried unzipping teh model then dragging and dopping unto an open 2D viwer. then got an error message
  2. I then tried dragging and dropping the zipped (raw download) unto the 2D . still got an error message
  3. Then tried i tried teh third time again. still got an error message

Could it be that it is because I did not open the spatial model editor first before attempting to drag and drop teh model you created for me?

 

I thank you so much for your remote support.

 

Kansy Emana

Contributor
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎03-13-2016

Re: Basic Layer Stack Question

Hallo dear Mvardos,

 

 

I guess what you mean by not from archives - is that I should unzip or open the model first befoire dragging it unto an open 2D viewer

 

here again is a failure notice which i got by carrying out the second option:

The second option how you can open the model is following:

  1. Right click in the Spatial Model Editor window
  2. Click Open.
  3. Navigate to the folder where model is located. 
  4. Select unstack.gmdx. Click OK

What could possibly be the problem?

 

Emana

Best regards

Do you need immediate support?
If you encounter a critical issue and need immediate assistance please submit a Service Request through our Support Portal.