Hexagon Geospatial
MENU

ERDAS IMAGINE

Discuss and share topics of interest using ERDAS IMAGINE the world’s leading geospatial data authoring system.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-25-2017
Accepted Solution

Why ERDAS pyramid file is not compatible with ArcGIS ?

Hi,

We notice that the pyramid layers built by Spatial Modeler are not recognized by ArcGIS. When we open the Spatial Modeler’s result attached with .rrd file with ArcMap 10.4.2,there will be a hint that the image does not have pyramid layer, however the image layer is normal in ERDAS.

This problem appears in some spatial models, we want to know why this happen and how to solve it.

Thanks.

 

Staff
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎07-04-2016

Re: Why ERDAS pyramid file is not compatible with ArcGIS ?

Dear @landview,

 

The answer to this has been provided in our knowledge base articles http://community.hexagongeospatial.com/t5/ERDAS-IMAGINE-Q-A/Pyramid-layers-built-with-ESRI-ArcGIS-ar...

 

The pyramids layers built in ESRI ArcGIS 10 are stored in an OVR file (*.ovr) instead of a RRD file (*.rdd). The *.ovr filename extension is reserved for annotation layers in ERDAS IMAGINE, which is why it does not recognize the pyramid layers built in ArcGIS.

 

You will need to recreate pyramids in ArcGIS.

 

 

Kind Regards,
Marina Vardovska
Hexagon Geospatial Support
Technical Evangelist
Posts: 737
Registered: ‎10-01-2015

Re: Why ERDAS pyramid file is not compatible with ArcGIS ?

[ Edited ]

It is odd though.

 

It's true that ERDAS IMAGINE does not (currently) recognize the OVR pyramid structure used by ArcGIS.

 

However it always used to be the case that ArcGIS was capable of reading the RRD pyramid structure used by ERDAS IMAGINE.

 

I'd highly recommend contacting esri's customer support to enquire why this might have changed.

 

Cheers

 

 

Ian Anderson
Chief Product Owner, Desktop Remote Sensing
Hexagon Geospatial
Technical Evangelist
Posts: 737
Registered: ‎10-01-2015

Re: Why ERDAS pyramid file is not compatible with ArcGIS ?

[ Edited ]

...and we may be missing some information.

 

I just used ERDAS IMAGINE 2016 v16.1 to create a new .img file with .rrd pyramids (from Spatial Modeler). I then opened this image in ArcGIS ArcMap 10.5.1 and it utilized the existing .rrd fine.  Properties showed pyramids as being present. 

 

So perhaps it's the specific type of data you are using / producing? Thematic or athematic? How many bands? What bit depth? What pyramid algorithm? All pyramid layers, or do you skip n? You may wish to open a Support Ticket to look into this further. But again, if it's ArcMap that is failing to read the .rrd it may be more appropriate to contact esri.

 

Cheers

Ian Anderson
Chief Product Owner, Desktop Remote Sensing
Hexagon Geospatial
Staff
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎07-04-2016

Re: Why ERDAS pyramid file is not compatible with ArcGIS ?

After further investigation via Support Ticket, the issue appeared to be connected with layer names generated by Spatial Modeler. Output Raster had layer/band names like Multiply.Output_1 and so on, which is created based on the names of operators. 

It's appeared that ArcMap doesn't recognize pyramids when the layer names are with a dot. That can be reported to ESRI.

The solution that can be here is to use Image Metadata to rename layers (Edit>Change Layer Name... in Image Metadata window). After renaming, pyramid recalculation is needed.

That is not a case for upcoming release. There is an operator called Set Band Names that will change layer names within Spatial Modeler. You can give it a try https://download.hexagongeospatial.com/downloads/imagine/erdas-imagine-2018

Kind Regards,
Marina Vardovska
Hexagon Geospatial Support
Do you need immediate support?
If you encounter a critical issue and need immediate assistance please submit a Service Request through our Support Portal.