Hexagon Geospatial
MENU

GeoMedia

Search for an answer, post a question, or answer other users' questions in our GeoMedia support discussions. This discussion board is a great way to collaborate with industry peers around the world. It is intended for discussion and support of the GeoMedia Desktop and Add-on applications.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-28-2018
Accepted Solution

GeoMedia Grid: Import multiple .XYZ files

Hi there,

 

using the Import function of GeoMedia Grid, I can directly read the .XYZ file format delivered by the German authority LGL.

It is a simple text format specifying the coordinates X, Y  and the height Z.

But such a file covers just a square kilometer, so I have a whole set of them.

 

The option 'Import multiple files' does not support this format. Why not?

 

It's painful to import them all separately and mosaic them later to a larger area.

Do you have any ideas or suggestions?

 

Regards

Karl-Heinz

Contributor
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎11-10-2015

Re: GeoMedia Grid: Import multiple .XYZ files

Hi,

I encountered this problem recently... I have merged the xyz files using FME (I think you can make it with other free sw), and used the output result in GMGrid

Regards

Technical Evangelist
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎02-10-2016

Re: GeoMedia Grid: Import multiple .XYZ files

I believe that the Import multiple files option is not supported for ArcGrid Binary (interchange) (*.flt), ArcGrid ASCII (interchange) (*.asc), ASCII tab-delimited text (*.txt), Raw Binary (*.bin), and XYZ text (*xyz) formats because these formats require additional user-supplied information, which could be different for each file.  If the additional user-supplied information was the same for all files (is that the case for you?), then it seems this would be possible, but it was not implemented this way.

 

If you can't find another way, and think this is important, then you could log a new Product Idea.

Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: GeoMedia Grid: Import multiple .XYZ files

You can use a command (dos) prompt to merge the files

 

copy *.xyz newfile.xyz

 

If there are any headers in the files, this won't work.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-28-2018

Re: GeoMedia Grid: Import multiple .XYZ files

Thanks for all your comments.

 

Actually I used now the command prompt with a batch file in such a way:

copy/a file1.xyz + file2.xyz + file3.xyz ... newfile.xyz

 

There was no header in the files.

The resulting file had a size over 600MB, but GeoMedia Grid imported this without an error.

 

Contributor
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎11-10-2015

Re: GeoMedia Grid: Import multiple .XYZ files

Yes,

It was .asc files with headers, no .xyz in my case

For xyz, simple agregation of the files can be a solution

Regards

Do you need immediate support?
If you encounter a critical issue and need immediate assistance please submit a Service Request through our Support Portal.