IMAGINE Discussions

Discuss and share topics of interest using ERDAS IMAGINE the world’s leading geospatial data authoring system.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-28-2018
Accepted Solution

Failed to open vector Layer

When I try to open vector layer (shapefile), it said "Failed to find vector class instance" and did not display any vector layers. I tried with multiple shapefiles, still the same message. It is just happing in a couple of computers I have and it worked in other machines. I appreciate any suggesions.

Highlighted
Technical Evangelist
Posts: 687
Registered: ‎02-02-2016

Re: Failed to open vector Layer

Hello Kamal,

 

  1. What version of ERDAS IMAGINE are you using when this problem occurs?
  2. Are you running the 64-bit or 32-bit version?
  3. Is the same version of ERDAS IMAGINE being used on the machines where the issue does not happen?
  4. Can you attach the ERDAS IMAGINE session log illustrating the errors? Start a new session of ERDAS IMAGINE and attempt to open a Shapefile. After the error occurs open the session log and select the complete text then copy and paste it into your reply.

Regards,

 

Stephen Bent

Hexagon Support 

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-28-2018

Re: Failed to open vector Layer

Hi Stephen,

Thank you for your prompt response. 

  1. ERDAS Imagine 2018.
  2. 64-bit
  3. Yes.
  4. Please see below.

    MAGINE Session Log
    -------------------

    User: humagak
    Date: Tue Sep 08 11:35:14 2020
    Host: TIM121-20089
    OS Version: Windows NT 6.2 Build 9200
    GPU: Available
    Locale: en-US
    IMAGINE Version: "ERDAS IMAGINE 2018 "
    Startup Directory: c:\users\humagak
    Session ID: 3716

    Starting session log...

    08/09/20 11:35:14 SessionMgr(3716): Connection success for the external process 'eWkspace_64'
    08/09/20 11:36:25 SessionMgr(3716): VFInstanceOpen failed
    08/09/20 11:36:25 SessionMgr(3716): ERROR: #16141 from evec_VFInstanceOpen
    08/09/20 11:36:25 SessionMgr(3716): ERROR: Error loading vector format dll C:/Program Files/Hexagon/ERDAS IMAGINE 2018/usr/lib/win32release/VectorFormats/shape.dll.
    08/09/20 11:36:25 SessionMgr(3716): ERROR: #2397 from edll_InstanceOpenByClassName
    08/09/20 11:36:25 SessionMgr(3716): ERROR: DLL Open failed for C:/Program Files/Hexagon/ERDAS IMAGINE 2018/usr/lib/win32release/VectorFormats/shape.dll
    08/09/20 11:36:25 SessionMgr(3716): ERROR: #212 from edll_Open
    08/09/20 11:36:25 SessionMgr(3716): ERROR: Could not load DLL C:\Program Files\Hexagon\ERDAS IMAGINE 2018\usr\lib\win32release\VectorFormats\shape.dll: Unknown error code - 193
    08/09/20 11:36:33 SessionMgr(3716): ERROR: #1963 from evec_LayerOpenGeneric
    08/09/20 11:36:33 SessionMgr(3716): ERROR: evec_VFInstanceGetByLayerName failed to load vector DLL.
    08/09/20 11:36:33 SessionMgr(3716): ERROR: #1883 from evec_VFInstanceGetByLayerName
    08/09/20 11:36:33 SessionMgr(3716): ERROR: Failed to find vector class instance.
    08/09/20 11:36:33 viewer vector "c:/gisc302/ex2_data/extract_polygon.shp";

Highlighted
Technical Evangelist
Posts: 687
Registered: ‎02-02-2016

Re: Failed to open vector Layer

Hi Kamal,

 

Can you try reconfiguring your vector formats?

 

ERDAS IMAGINE 2018 > File tab > Configuration > Reconfigure Vector Formats

 

After the configuration task completes, restart ERDAS IMAGINE and try displaying a Shapefile in the 2D View.

 

Kind regards,

 

Stephen

 

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-28-2018

Re: Failed to open vector Layer

It works! Thank you Stephen!