IMAGINE Discussions

Discuss and share topics of interest using ERDAS IMAGINE the world’s leading geospatial data authoring system.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎05-23-2016
Accepted Solution

GeoMedia 2016 and ERDAS IMAGINE 2018

hello, 

Could I install ERDAS IMAGINE 2018 and GeoMedia 2016 in the same computer? 

 

And the opposite? 

 

Thanks in advance 

Staff
Posts: 598
Registered: ‎02-02-2016

Re: GeoMedia 2016 and ERDAS IMAGINE 2018

Yes, you can install ERDAS IMAGINE 2018 and GeoMedia 2016 on the same computer. You can also install GeoMedia 2018 on the same computer as ERDAS IMAGINE 2016.

 

Beginning from ERDAS IMAGINE 2018, ERDAS IMAGINE can be installed and/or uninstalled in any order, regardless of GeoMedia products installed on the same machine. For ERDAS IMAGINE versions 2013 to 2016, certain GeoMedia product core components are shared if both ERDAS IMAGINE and GeoMedia are installed on the same machine. Follow these general guidelines below if installing any of these older versions.

  • When you install ERDAS IMAGINE and GeoMedia on the same machine:
    • Only the same version of IMAGINE and GeoMedia on the same machine are supported.
    • If you have an older version of GeoMedia, you must uninstall it before installing newer version of IMAGINE.
  • When installing multiple version of ERDAS IMAGINE on the same machine:
    • Always install in ascending order of the version. So if you are installing ERDAS IMAGINE 2015 and 2016, install ERDAS IMAGINE 2015 first followed by ERDAS IMAGINE 2016.
    • When you install a second, newer version of ERDAS IMAGINE, the new shared components are not updated and will not remain when you uninstall the older version.
    • You can install multiple versions of ERDAS IMAGINE on one machine, but the GeoMedia core component capability is determined by the oldest version of the installations.
    • If you any feature functionality is not working in any version of IMAGINE, repair the oldest version.

Kind regards,

 

Stephen Bent

Hexagon Geospatial Support

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-03-2018

Re: GeoMedia 2016 and ERDAS IMAGINE 2018

We are trying to install GeoMedia Pro 2016 on a PC that already has ERDAS Imaging 2016 installed. We get an error saying that ERDAS IMagine and GeoMedia Viewer must be unistalled first. Is it possible to run both Imagine 2016 and GeoMedia 2016 on the same PC and is there an install order required?

 

Thanks,

Mike Robertson

Technical Evangelist
Posts: 798
Registered: ‎10-01-2015

Re: GeoMedia 2016 and ERDAS IMAGINE 2018

Yes and yes.

 

GeoMedia 2016 must be installed prior to installing ERDAS IMAGINE 2016.

 

Cheers

 

Ian Anderson
Chief Product Owner, Desktop Remote Sensing
Hexagon Geospatial