Hexagon Geospatial
MENU

M.App Enterprise

Discuss topics with other M.App Enterprise Product pioneers and experts to get the most out of it.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Regular Contributor
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎10-26-2015
Accepted Solution

Launch Desktop M.App

Hi,

I have added some vector data from Oracle to the 'Content' section. I then created a Legend containing the vector data, created an Overview, Role (assigned the legend to create an "App"), created a user and assigned them the role.

 

Now when I log in as either the tenant or the user I cannot launch the Desktop M.App from the 'M.APPS' section. I've tried Google Chrome and IE 11. How do I launch the app?

There is no error shown in the browser console.

I have JRE 8 (update 102 installed).

Highlighted
Technical Evangelist
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎09-01-2015

Re: Launch Desktop M.App

Hi,

 

  • Role (assigned the legend to create an "App") (What?)
  • Now when I log in as either the tenant (Where?)
  • I have JRE 8 (update 102 installed). (Nice information, but doesn't matter to SEE the app in the list)

 

So here are the steps to create and start an app:

  1. Create content
  2. Create User and activate it in the email you are getting from M.App Enterprise
  3. Create Role and assign the role to the user
  4. Create Desktop App (Legend, Overview,...,M.App itself)
  5. Assign in the M.App creation process the previously created Legend, Overview,... and the role from step 3. Role and Legend are mandatory. The rest is optional.
  6. Start https://SERVERNAME/Apps/?tenant=TENANTNAME
  7. Log in with the user from step 2
  8. Launch the app

Hope that helps,

Stefan

 

 

 

 

 

Regular Contributor
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎10-26-2015

Re: Launch Desktop M.App

Stefan,

I have followed your steps already. When I login as the tenant or the user using the link https://SERVERNAME/Apps/?tenant=TENANTNAME I see the app under the M.APPS section.

 

When I left-click on the app nothing happens. If I double left-click on the app nothing happens. I see no other button or method of launching the app. What could be stopping the app from launching?

Staff
Posts: 1,036
Registered: ‎10-18-2015

Re: Launch Desktop M.App

[ Edited ]

Colin,

 

I've already seen this behavior but can't remember how I fixed it, sorry.

If I I'm not wrong it's related to the https protocol. Java connects to the application using jnlps protocol, something like this:

 

Capture.PNG

and in some cases that may be refused by client runtime.

 

ciao,

Stefano

Stefano Turcato
Presale Engineer
Hexagon Geospatial
Regular Contributor
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎10-26-2015

Re: Launch Desktop M.App

I have managed to launch my App.

I checked the Tenant settings under Security > Users and it showed I was assigned the role which has the Desktop App.

I then checked Securty > Roles and saw the tenant user was not ticked against the role.

I ticked the role, saved and then access the page https://SERVER/Apps/?tenant=TENANT and saw the App and could launch it.

I then logged in as the user and they could also see the App and launch it.

 

So it appears the cause of my issue was using the wrong web page to launch the App (Desktop App's don't launch from the Studio?)

I needed to assign the Role to the Tenant User.

Staff
Posts: 1,036
Registered: ‎10-18-2015

Re: Launch Desktop M.App

correct, you have to launch applications from the Apps page even using Studio account.

 

 

Stefano Turcato
Presale Engineer
Hexagon Geospatial
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎04-29-2016

Re: Launch Desktop M.App

Hello,

 

I have the same problem although the security settings are correct

I can launch the application from the server machine.

But nothing launched at client machine

 

Regards,

Maha 

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎04-29-2016

Re: Launch Desktop M.App

Hello,

 

Is any one have a solution to the problem stated above, as i face the same issue at trying to run app from machine other than server:

 

it's related to the https protocol. Java connects to the application using jnlps protocol, something like this: 

Capture.PNG

and in some cases that may be refused by client runtime.

 

Regards,

Maha

 

Staff
Posts: 1,036
Registered: ‎10-18-2015

Re: Launch Desktop M.App

please do not open and mix threads. The problem here was different, the wrong page to start the client applications.

Please update your original thread specifying additional information about the problem you are experiencing. You can have a look a client logi files, browser console and so on.

 

Stefano 

Stefano Turcato
Presale Engineer
Hexagon Geospatial
Do you need immediate support?
If you encounter a critical issue and need immediate assistance please submit a Development Ticket through our Development Ticket Portal.