Hexagon Geospatial
MENU

WebGIS Q&A

WebGIS enables powerful geospatial web applications and services that securely share your organization’s rich geospatial data, and provides tools to deeply examine spatial data and create value added products, on demand.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Do not use “Publish the GeoWorkspace contents to the Metadata” command to save your changes

by fmak on ‎06-02-2016 05:42 PM - edited on ‎04-24-2017 01:32 AM by Technical Evangelist (467 Views)

Do not use the WebMap Publisher Administrator’s “Publish the GeoWorkspace contents to the Metadata” command to save your changes to the metadata. Instead, use the “OK” or “Apply” button on the Map Contents GUI to save your changes to the metadata.

 

The “Publish the GeoWorkspace contents to the Metadata” command is meant to quickly publish your GeoWorkspace and it will insert the same default/generic settings to the metadata. Every time you use the “Publish the GeoWorkspace contents to the Metadata” command, all the previous changes to the metadata will be overwritten with the generic settings.

For instance, if you spent 30 minutes to edit and customize your metadata (for items like manually hiding certain legend entries, enabling Hotspots, creating queries etc) and clicked "Publish the GeoWorkspace contents to the Metadata", then you would end up overwriting all your customization with the generic metadata (with no custom hotspots and no hidden legends).

 

There is actually a warning message saying this command will overwrite existing metadata, but from my experience, most users tend to ignore it. This warning message will come up every time except the first run of the “Publish the GeoWorkspace contents to the Metadata”.

 

Contributors